REPORT: Manchester Rangers v Oldham St Annes A

Rangers move back to top of NWML Div 2 with a convincing win over Oldham St Annes A


Chipchase scores the first

Following a defeat at the hands of Ulverston, Manchester Rangers were looking to get back to winning ways when they made the short trip to local rivals Oldham St Annes A. Rangers started off on the front foot as Tyrone Chipchase scored after just 2 minutes, followed by Ben Steele, Dan Roughley and Adam Heal all adding to the score sheet. Jordan Green kicking 2 from 1 with Connor Winfield also adding a conversion. Oldham registered a try of their own as they looked to mount a second half comeback.

HALF TIME: Oldham St Annes 4 – 22 Manchester Rangers


The second half started as the first left off with Rangers in the ascendancy, Ben Steele cutting

Adam Heal races away for his second

through the Oldham line before Josh Hill danced

around two defenders to score, Green good with the boot on both occasions. St Annes fought back into the game as Michael Fogerty showed his class in the centres, creating opportunities for two tries to bring hope back to the Oldham side.

Rangers went back on the attack and a sublime inside ball from Ben Steele put Tyrone Chipchase away who raced around the Oldham defence for his second before Adam Heal also completed his brace following a Steele break. Connor Winfield adding both conversions. Oldham had the final say of the game with a converted try on the whistle, but it wasn’t enough to dampen the Rangers victory.

FULL TIME: Oldham St Annes 22 – 46 Manchester Rangers


Manchester Rangers: 42

Tries: Chipchase (2), Steele (2), Roughley, Heal (2), Hill

Goals: Green (4 from 5), Winfield (3 from 3)


Man of the Match: Ben Steele


Manchester Rangers Squad:

  1. Tyrone Chipchase, 2. Caolan McCool, 3. Kashley Watkins, 4. Max Horsfall, 5. Dan Roughley, 6. Ben Steele, 7. Josh Hill, 8. Rubin Holland, 9. Jordan Green, 10. Nick Ryan, 11. Tyrone Parsonage, 12. Chris Allen, 13. Adam Heal, 14. Connor Winfield, 15. Steve Jones, 16. Jack McCarthy, 17. Josh Dolan